latina today

Latina Bloggers

Latin American Cinemateca

on May 8, 2013

Image

I recently had the pleasure of meeting a couple of individuals that are involved with The Latin American Cinemateca of Los Angeles, a non-profit dedicated to supporting Latin-American cinema. Their goals are to promote and increase the visibility of Latin-American Cinema; showcase the established and up-and-coming Latino cineastes from the US and Latin America; to encourage youth from LA and SoCal to pursue careers in film and media and to stimulate dialogue about the artistic merits of Latin-American cinema.

Image

This saturday, May 11th 2013 from 11am to 2pm they will be hosting the 6th Annual LACLA Student FIlm Festival at the Center of the preservation of Democracy Theater in Little Tokyo (111 N. Central Ave). The event is free for all and will feature short films by students from various middle, middle schools and media programs all over Los Angeles.

For more info, check out their site: http://lacla.org/home/student-films-2013/

5 responses to “Latin American Cinemateca

  1. firebirdv2 says:

    That’s rad. I wish we had more programs like this to stimulate our youth.

  2. Cassie Dicke says:

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  3. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  4. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

