latina today

Latina Bloggers

Some Girl(S)

on May 10, 2013

Since I am not super cool (yet) and don’t get invited to pre-screenings of films to write amazing reviews about, I will then review trailers…hehe!

Screen shot 2013-05-11 at 7.32.38 PM

These are biased reviews based on what my likes and dislikes are and most importantly Latina-Biased… So if you want to know what a Latina born and raised in the Los Angeles thinks about a particular film…. here’s the spot!

I will start off with: SOME GIRLS set for a limited release, here are the specs:

Release Date: June 28, 2013 (limited) and on VIMEO on Demand
Studio: Leeden Media
Director: Daisy von Scherler Mayer
Screenwriter: Neil LaBute
Starring: Adam Brody, Kristen Bell, Emily Watson, Zoe Kazan, Mia Maestro
Genre: Comedy, Romance

Trailer: 

Plot Summary: Based on his play by the same name, Neil LaBute’s script follows a successful writer (Adam Brody) who, on the eve of his wedding, travels across the country to meet up with ex-lovers in an attempt to make amends for past relationship transgressions. Crisscrossing from Seattle to Boston, he reunites with high school sweetheart Sam (Jennifer Morrison), sexually free-spirited Tyler (Mía Maestro), married college professor Lindsay (Emily Watson), his best friend’s little sister Reggie (Zoe Kazan), and “the one that got away” Bobbi (Kristen Bell). Daisy von Scherler Mayer (“Party Girl”) directs this journey of a modern-day Candide stumbling through a landscape familiar to most men – messy breakups.

 MV5BMTA2NjI4NDQwNzleQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU3MDE4MjMzMjk@._V1_SX214_

My Thoughts:

I’m guessing I am their target audience, 20-something girls from the city. This tailer was a bit slow-paced though they have my attention because of the nice list of talent. I must say, they need to seriously work on their one-sheet, it is not appealing. I would be more drawn to it if it had a modern look and included a few of the lead female roles represented in the one sheet. The story is not too unique but I like the quorky-ish humor. I can see this making money for NetFlix or RedEnvelope. Mayor PR work should be done to get a bigger turn out with it’s limited release. They also need to work on the social media, June 28th is right around the corner and I was unable to find any buzz on Twitter, Rotten Tomatoes, HSX pricing, nada! Oh but be sure to spell it right… There is an 80s flick with the same title, this one is SOME GIRL(S) talk about bad title choice! I shouldn’t have to press <shift> at any time to find a tittle, its too much effort! I finally found their Facebook page and me along 5k others liked it, that’s a very low number of FB likes for a movie being released on Vimeo on-demand, it should be all about online hype…. Nimodo (anyway), I will be adding this to my list to watch with my girl-friends at our next pajama party.

Star Rating:

Unknown

One response to “Some Girl(S)

  1. Hi Jolie, I saw there are lots of cute pictures on your blog. Did you draw these by yourself?

Leave a Reply

