latina today

Latina Bloggers

Tres Leches Cake Recipe

on May 12, 2013

Since this Latina can’t do it all, I invited Eve who will be sharing her favorite Recipes with us!

Today’s Recipe comes from a dear friend, Evelyn Gastelum. She is an awesome chef and will be bringing us Latin Recipes. We start this edition with a yummy dessert from Mexico, Tres Leches.

Eve’s Kitchen

292234_10200216722633348_31479123_n

 Mi mamá me mima, mi mamá me ama, amo a mi mamá. Transation “My Mom spoils me, my Mom loves me, I love my Mom” this is one of the first rhymes that I learned when I was in Kindergarten. My Mom is very special to me, she is very lucky because she celebrates Mexican Mother’s Day (May 10th) and the American one. I used to take her out to brunch, I noticed that we all got a little fussy after hours of waiting for food that wasn’t all that great because the cooks were extremely busy. Now that I’m a grown up, I usually get fast food or cook for her. This time, I decided to make her favorite cake from scratch, a Latin American favorite… Tres Leches cake.

The name says it all “leche” means milk, the cake is soaked in three different types of milk, it is wet, moist, sweet and delicious. I made Alton Brown’s recipe and added a few ingredients of my own.

Here’s the recipe

For the cake: 

  • 6 3/4 ounces cake flour, plus extra for pan
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 4 ounces unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 8 ounces sugar
  • 5 whole eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Pinch of cinnamon

For the glaze: 

  • 1 (12-ounce) can evaporated milk
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 lowfat milk

For the topping: 

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 8 ounces sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Before you start: prepare the pan with butter and flour, this will prevent the cake from sticking, I used an 8 x 8 aluminum pan the one that comes with a lid. I like those because you don’t have to take out the take and they are good to give as presents.

1

Step 1. Combine flour, baking powder and salt (make sure you mix them).

Step 2. Beat butter at medium speed until fluffy. See picture

2

Step 3. Decrease the speed to low and with the mixer still running, gradually add the sugar over 1 minute. Stop to scrape down the sides of the bowl, if necessary.

3

Step 4. Add the eggs (one at a time) see picture:

4

Step 5. Add the vanilla extract and mix to combine, add a pinch of cinnamon and mix.

 5

Step 6. Add the flour mixture to the batter in 3 batches and mix just until combined.

6

Step 7. Transfer the batter to the prepared pan and spread evenly. This will appear to be a very small amount of batter.

7

Step 8. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until the cake is lightly golden and reaches an internal temperature of 200 degrees F.

Step 9:  Remove the cake pan to a cooling rack and allow to cool for 30 minutes. Poke the top of the cake all over with a skewer or fork. Allow the cake to cool completely and then prepare the glaze.

8

Step 10: For the glaze:  Whisk together the evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and the milk in a 1-quart measuring cup. Once combined, pour over the cake. Refrigerate overnight.

9

Step 11: Topping:  Place the heavy cream, sugar and vanilla into the bowl of a stand mixer. Using the whisk attachment, whisk together on low until stiff peaks are formed. Change to medium speed and whisk until thick. Spread the topping over the cake and allow to chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Making your own whip cream is really fast and easy, sometimes I don’t have heavy cream because it expires fast. You can use the powder heavy cream just follow the instructions on the packet or you can buy cool whip and mix it with some vanilla.

Alton Brown uses half and half in the mix, I use regular milk because that’s usually something that most people have in their home. I have tried both ways and have not noticed a difference.

I dust some ground cinnamon over the cake and it is delicious, you can also top it with strawberries, peaches or any fruit of choice for some color and yummy flavor. I hope you enjoyed this recipe, ¡Buen provecho!

 

 

 

10

 

 

Other yummy recipes from Eve’s Kitchen!

3 responses to “Tres Leches Cake Recipe

  1. James Palmer says:

    Umm I’ll be cooking that tomorrow! Looks so tasty!

  2. […] Other yummy recipes from Eve’s Kitchen! […]

  3. mariposaoro says:

    I will attempt to make this again at Christmas!! I’ll follow this recipe!

Leave a Reply

