latina today

Latina Bloggers

Vinegar = Shiny Hair?!

on May 18, 2013

Pretty Hair??

I have always had what everyone called “amazing hair” lots of it, soft curls, long, just perfect! I took it for granted, for I never knew how important hair was to feel confident, pretty, feminine….. Then, something unfortunate happened…I went to my salon of 3 years, to get the famous “Keratin Treatment” to make my hair shinier and more manageable. Turns out, my hair stylist, did a chemical treatment instead, rubbed all my hair with the chemicals and BURNED i!!! It was devastating, my hair fell in chunks, torn, fragile. I had to chop it off and styled the “Bob” cut. I also had to darken my hair to try to hide the damage. Since then, I have had to go through numerous hair treatments, deep conditioning, hundreds of dollars spent on a monthly basis and still, am waiting, a year later for my hair to grow. In the interest of saving money, I have asked my mother for some beauty secrets and she said VINEGAR! It is supposed to restore shine to the hair and I have the Costco-sized bottle already!

Here is the scoop for a once-a-week remedy:

photo

What you will need:

  • 1 Shot Glass
  • 1 Bowl
  • White Vinegar (although apple vinegar or wine vinegar will also work)
  • Drinking Water

Steps:

  1. Mix 1 shot of vinegar with 1 shot of drinking water into the bol
  2. Add the mixture throughout the hair prior to washing it
  3. Let it soak up for 20-30 mins
  4. Rinse it with warm water
  5. Shampoo and condition your hair normally

Other Beauty Tips

6 responses to “Vinegar = Shiny Hair?!

  1. […] Other Beauty Tips […]

  2. Awesome! How did it work?!? I need something for my hair, so dry and dull :/

  3. mivorin says:

    I should try the special vinegar treatment because my hair is too dry. According to an old tradition in my country,Japan, eating seaweed is good for black hair to shine and to be healthy. 😉

    • jolie1199 says:

      Eating Seaweed?? I’ll have to google that! Interesting! Thanks! Any other neat traditional beauty tips from Japan?!

      • mivorin says:

        The another traditional beauty tip is that Koji, a kind of yeast prepared from rice or barley, is good for skin. It makes skin more bright and soft. The idea comes from tha tradition that people who make Sake which is made with Koji, Japanese alcohol, their hands are very beautiful although most of them are men.
        There are many lotions with Koji in Japan. 😉

Leave a Reply

