latina today

Latina Bloggers

El Cholo

on May 19, 2013

what is this?

I must admit, I never get tired of Mexican food, I can cook it everyday and go to restaurants and request a Mexican one! It is after-all a mission trying to find true authentic Mexican Restaurants.

For many years now, I have heard time after time people talk about the infamous EL CHOLO, the original one off Western. How amazing it is, blah, blah, blah. Finally, this past Thursday evening, I had the pleasure of trying it out. The margarita was great, and the Nachos were what you would expect. I went ahead and ordered a simple dish to determine their authenticity. My rule of thumb is: If the beans taste like my grandma in Mexico cooked them, then it’s pretty close to the real thing! I ordered the simplest dish, a cheese enchilada with beans on the side. I was starving and that is probably the only reason I ate the whole thing, but after the first bite, I knew it wasn’t meant to be. If I had to rate this restaurant based on how authentic tasting the food was, I would give it a one star out of four, because it Feels authentic but it sure doesn’t taste it. My friend ordered Chiles Rellenos and that dish looked anything but what it was supposed to be. And after asking her about the taste (she too knows what its supposed to taste like) she said it was definitely something, just not Chiles Rellenos.

It’s a fun atmosphere, so if you want to go to a Mexican Restaurant for chips, nachos and margaritas, this is your spot. But, if you are looking for an authentic Mexican Food Restaurant, look elsewhere.

El Cholo off Western Ave, Los Angeles CA Gets 1 out 4 stars in my Book!

images-1

Below is their Cheese Enchilada with Beans Plate

 DSC01478

Rating: 1 out 4 stars

Price: $$ (out of 4 $)

Parking: Valet $

Seating: Casual, Happy Hour, Dark Dinning Room area, TV screens everywhere

Location: 1121 S Western Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90006

 

Other Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

