latina today

Latina Bloggers

Empapelado de pescado-(fish wrapped in foil)

on June 21, 2013

 pic7

Eve’s Kitchen

 

I was born in Sinaloa México, a region very close to the coast. I have been eating seafood for as long as I can remember. My dad used to buy me shrimp, octopus, abalone and fish ever since I was three years old.

Now that I’m grown up, I like to cook all those yummy things I grew up with, today I will share a recipe that is easy, delicious and very healthy. It is called empapelado “empapelado” means wrapped in paper, the fish fillets are wrapped in foil along with lots of veggies and they are cooked in a skillet for a few minutes.

 

Ingredients:

4 filets (halibut or tilapia) I had halibut at home so I used those

2 juiced limes

2 small tomatoes (chopped)

1 serrano chile

1 onion (chopped)

Salt

Pepper

Cilantro

1 tbspoon of butter

4 large pieces of aluminum foil, about 12 inches

 

Steps:

1- Season the fillets with salt pepper and lime juice, let them sit for about 20 min

pic1

2- Place aluminum foil paper in flat surface, place halibut, top it with the onions, tomato, serrano, cilantro, sprinkle some salt and lime juice and a little bit of butter.

pic2

3- Wrap the fillets slightly loose, make sure they’re closed completely so nothing spills. My husband doesn’t eat chile, so I made one without serrano and folded the corners so I could tell the difference.

pic3

 

4- Heat up a skillet at very high temperature, add fillets and reduce to low temperature.

pic4

5- Cook for ten minutes then turn carefully and cook for another ten minutes on low.

6- Once you finish cooking, place in plate and open slowly

pic5

 

7- Once it’s done you can serve with rice, beans and other veggies. I included a few options.  I prepared my Dad a plate with rice, beans topped with melted Oaxaca cheese,  tomato and avocado slices.

pic6

 

 

I am trying to eat healthier so I served myself a plate with rice with corn and poblano strips and tomato and avocado slices.

pic7

 

Healthy doesn’t have to be boring, ¡buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

