latina today

Latina Bloggers

Summer Chia

on July 10, 2013

blogd

Eve’s Kitchen

I have a confession to make; I am a very eccentric eater. I will eat almost anything and I love to experiment! However, I am not a big fan of drinks; I do not drink alcohol so the only thing I drink is water, coconut water, coffee, milk, lemonade and iced tea. Very seldom do I drink juices or other drinks. I was eating at “La Casita Mexicana” my favorite Mexican restaurant in Bell a few months ago; when I discovered a drink called “Limonada con chía”. Chia seeds were used by the Mayans and Aztecs. They are really healthy and I like the fact that they don’t taste like anything so you can mix them with a lot of foods. I usually buy the seeds at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s and mix them with oatmeal for breakfast and I also make my own chia lemonade.

It is a healthy and refreshing drink that is perfect for summer.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup fresh lime juice

Steps

In a medium bowl, mix the chia seeds with 1 cup cold water. Let stand 15 minutes. Drain and rinse the seeds.

Mix 4 cups cold water and the sugar in a medium pitcher, stirring until the sugar dissolves. Add the lime juice and stir to combine. Mix in the chia seeds.

Here’s a picture I took a few days ago, I made Julie’s chicken with mustard and mayo and tossed with some greens and I had a chia lemonade. It doesn’t take a long time to eat healthy and delicious.

¡Buen Provecho!

Leave a Reply

