latina today

Latina Bloggers

Restaurant Review-La Casita Mexicana in Bell California

on July 14, 2013

This restaurant is awesome!!!! Best Mexican Food I have ever had in LA.

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.50.18 PM

Mexican Food is beyond tacos and burritos. Most Mexican food places in LA have a vast variety of foods and they do not specialize in something. I am very picky with Mexican food, I grew up in Mexico the first ten years of my life and there are burritos, chimichangas or carne asada nachos anywhere. Cheddar cheese is only used in American Cooking over there.  Mexican cheeses include yummy Oaxaca cheese or Manchego cheese which is originally from Spain. La Casita Mexicana in Bell is authentic Mexican food from the Central and Southern regions of Mexico.

I came across this place on Food Network, I was watching “The Best thing I ever ate” and I heard the word “churros” I love churros so that kept me watching. Giada de Laurentiis recommended La Casita in Bell, she mentioned that the “cajeta” which is condensed goat milk is imported from Jalisco so that got me.

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.49.38 PM

I went with my husband and I fell in love with the décor. We started with the queso fundido (cheese fondue) this had four types of cheeses with herbs wrapped in a plantain leaf. That was the most exquisite fondue I have ever had at a Mexican restaurant, it was soft and pliable, they also give homemade tortillas with different flavors.

I had two regular enchiladas with mole and one with pepián verde. My husband had fish with morita chile sauce. My husband does not eat spicy food, with the exception of this fish dish at La Casita, he says it’s so good that he doesn’t care.

I have also tried the “Chiles en nogada” these are stuffed poblano peppers with a walnut sauce and they are topped with pomegranate seeds. This dish represents the colors of the Mexican flag and it’s very complex.

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.49.57 PM

Now, no matter how much I eat I have to always leave room for dessert, I tried the famous churros con cajeta and they are so yummy. Warm soft mini churros filled with cajeta aka dulce de leche and tossed in sugar. Those are a must have, they also have a chocolate flan which is very delicious as well.

Their mole poblano is so light it has the mole taste without the heavy feeling afterwards. They put the perfect amount of spices it. My hubby tried their pescado en crema de chipotle and that sauce is heavenly also.

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.50.08 PM

Everyone needs to experience true Mexican cuisine and fall in love with our food. Try it and you will not be disappointed. I included some pictures of the dishes that I have tried.

Unknown

  • Rating: 4 out 4 stars
  • Price: $$ (out of 4 $)
  • Parking: Street
  • Seating: Casual atmosphere
  • Location: 4030 Gage Ave, Bell CA website

Their Website: www.casitamex.com

By Latina Blogger: Evelyn Gastelum

Leave a Reply

